Blessed Edward Jones Catholic High School

Week 31 - Wisdom

The 7 gifts of the Holy Spirit is an enumeration of 7 spiritual gifts originating from early Christian church leaders, later elaborated by five intellectual virtues and 4 other groups of ethical characteristics.
They are: wisdom, intellect, counsel, fortitude, science, piety, and fear of the Lord.
“Watch your thoughts, they become words;
watch your words, they become actions;
watch your actions, they become habits;
watch your habits, they become character;
watch your character, for it becomes your destiny.”
Attributed to Laozi (Lao Tse) 6thC BC
Image result for lao tse

Prayer for wisdom

Father, take me to the place 
where I am saved from my pride and arrogance
and Christ's humility is centre stage,
where I'm lifting up clean hands 
and a pure heart to You. 

Take me to the place 
where I'm no longer looking at the mountains I face
but looking down upon them, 
where I can see clearly and my decisions are flooded 
with Your light, truth and justice.

I bend my knee and receive Your truth
I open my ears to receive Your counsel
I open my heart to receive Your eternal wisdom.

T. 01745 343433 F. 01745 343433 E.